Searching for Gold

Searching for Gold


Originally, the plan for this film project was to climb the 4.100 meter high Kumtor Mine in the heart of the Ak-Shirak Mountains.

From the very beginning Kyrgyzstan’s largest goldmine captivated us with its imposing walls, sharp ice flanks, wide glacier fields and unspoiled snow slopes. We were fascinated by the landscape of bizarre shelters, monstrous troughs, huge rock and ice slabs lined by the dikes of a poison lake in an endlessly remote desert. Kumtor is a playground with a tremendous visual language and an eerie atmosphere – enough explosive dynamite for our new ski film project, we supposed…

With a Russian icebreaker named UAZ Hunter, we head off to our adventurous treasure hunt in the glacier region of the Ak-Shirak mountains. But instead of bumping into gold, we experienced all kinds of nerve-racking challenges. In the end, we hit pay dirt. We found breathtaking lines, we went through quirky moments, nerve-racking experiences and we catched fascinating pictures that we would never have dreamed of.

“beautiful ice lines”

“Once again Kyrgyzstan demanded everything from us. As soon as we took our first steps onto the snow we got reminded about our trip back in 2012 and the worst avalanche conditions on this planet. It took all our skills to approach these beautiful ice lines, but in the end we could ski all the lines we where dreaming of!”

  Johannes

Gallery

Newsletter

I agree to my personal data being stored and used to receive the newsletter

Other Projects

We are a professional ski and mountain sports film and photo production from Innsbruck/Tyrol, Austria. We produce advertising films and image clips and we are specialized in exceptional time-lapse and drone shots.

Searching for Gold

Searching for Gold


Ursprünglich war der Plan dieses Filmprojekts die Befahrung der 4.100 Metern hoch gelegenen Kumtor Mine im Herzen des Ak-Shirak Gebirges.

Kirgistans größte Goldmine zog uns mit ihren imposanten Steilwänden, scharfen Eisflanken, weiten Gletscherfeldern und unberührten Schneehängen von Anfang an in ihren Bann. Die Landschaft aus bizarren Schutthalden, monströsen Muldenkippern, gewaltigen Schneisen aus Fels und Eis, gesäumt von den Deichen eines Giftsees in einer endlos weiten Einöde, faszinierten uns. Kumtor ist ein Schauplatz mit einer gewaltigen Bildsprache und unheimlichen Atmosphäre, der uns enormen Zündstoff für unser Skifilmprojekt liefern sollte.

Mit einem russischen Eisbrecher, Fabrikat UAZ Hunter, starteten wir Ende April zu unserer abenteuerlichen Schatzsuche in die Gletscherregion des Ak-Shirak Gebirges. Doch statt auf Gold zu stoßen, trafen wir auf allerhand nervenaufreibende Widerstände… Letzten Endes wurden wir dennoch fündig. Fündig nach atemberaubenden Linien, skurrilen Momenten, nervenaufreibenden Erfahrungen, faszinierenden Bildern und Aufnahmen, die wir uns so nie erträumt hätten.

„langsames Heranwagen an die Schneebedingungen“

„Kirgistan hat uns wieder mal alles abverlangt! Als wir unsere ersten Schritte auf dem kirgisischen Schnee wagten wurden wir wieder aufs neue an unseren Trip von 2012 und den schlimmsten Schneedeckenaufbau auf diesem Planeten erinnert. Aber nach einem langsamen Heranwagen an die Schneebedingungen konnten wir trotzdem alle Linien befahren die wir uns erträumt hatten.“

  Johannes

Galerie

Newsletter

Weitere Projekte

Wir sind eine professionelle Ski- und Bergsport Film- und Fotoproduktion aus Innsbruck, Tirol, Österreich, produzieren Werbefilme und Imagefilme und sind spezialisiert auf außergewöhnliche Drohnen-und Time-Lapse-Aufnahmen.